No thanks
Back

Photography course - Class No 2: Aperture and Depth of field (Beginner level)

Class No 2: Aperture and Depth of field (Beginner level) 3h30

Depth of field is one of the major aspects of photography. It is defined as a zone of sharpest focus in front of, behind and around the subject of the photograph. Beyond the limits of this area, the elements are rather blurred. 

This zone can be adjusted according to three parameters that will be explained in detail during the workshop: the aperture, the focal length and the distance from camera to subject. Playing around with these three parameters can significantly modify the esthetics of an image!

 

This is a creative aspect of photography: mastering depth of field will allow you to make great portraits, landscapes, and highlighting a subject in its surrounding environment. 

 

This workshop will teach you how to:

 

-    Use the “A” or “Av” shooting mode

-    Make a portrait with a blurry background

-    Photograph a landscape with higher sharpness

Key Details

This beginner class is part of a pack of 4 workshops (14 hours)
A summary of the notions covered in this course will be handed out at the end of each session. A “meeting form” with the exact meet-up location will be sent to enrolled participants a few days before class
Number of hours for this course - 3.30 hours. Depending on the number of students, the course can be completed in 2.30 hours, 3 hours or 3.30 hours. With very few participants, the quality of the class and the time allocated to each one to ask questions allows the course duration to be reduced in order to keep the chosen dates and avoid cancellations. For more information, see our Terms of use page
The workshop is composed of a theoretical part, practical training and a debriefing

Briefly...

Depth of field is one of the major aspects of photography. It is defined as a zone of sharpest focus in front of, behind and around the subject of the photograph. Beyond the limits of this area, the elements are rather blurred.

Practical info

  • Level: Beginner
  • All camera brands are accepted
  • Accepted cameras
    Bridge or Hybrid | Reflex Camera SLR
  • 7 Maximum participants
  • Duration 3h30
  • Workshop in English

Choose your next Photography Course

Date Starts Ends Price
Saturday 6 June 2020 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Tuesday 30 June 2020 09:30 am 01:00 pm 90 CAD
Saturday 4 July 2020 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Sunday 26 July 2020 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Saturday 1 August 2020 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Tuesday 25 August 2020 09:30 am 01:00 pm 90 CAD
Saturday 5 September 2020 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Sunday 20 September 2020 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Saturday 3 October 2020 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Tuesday 20 October 2020 09:30 am 01:00 pm 90 CAD
Saturday 7 November 2020 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Sunday 15 November 2020 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Saturday 5 December 2020 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Tuesday 15 December 2020 09:30 am 01:00 pm 65 CAD
Saturday 2 January 2021 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Sunday 10 January 2021 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Saturday 6 February 2021 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Tuesday 9 February 2021 09:30 am 01:00 pm 90 CAD
Saturday 6 March 2021 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Sunday 7 March 2021 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Saturday 3 April 2021 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Tuesday 6 April 2021 09:30 am 01:00 pm 90 CAD
Saturday 1 May 2021 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD
Sunday 2 May 2021 02:00 pm 05:30 pm 90 CAD

GiftCards

Give an exciting original gift
whith our customizable giftcards.
Start here